Education - Librarian Recommended Websites

 

Local School Resources

Olathe School District Links to all Olathe school web sites as well as contact information for staff and faculty and other information about the district.

Blue Valley School District

Johnson County Community College

Kansas Department of Education Information about all state education programs, including assessment standards, teacher licensing, student scholarships, statistics and much more. The site includes staff, school and subject directories and links to information about all state colleges and universities.

Kansas School for the Deaf

MidAmerican Nazarene University


Adult Basic Education - GED and ESL

Johnson County Adult Basic Education is an educational program sponsored by Johnson County Community College and the Johnson County Library.  Instruction is offered in basic reading, writing and math, GED® test preparation and also ESL.  Locations are throughout the county. 


Standardized Test Information

Information on tests like the ACT, SAT and GRE.  

Practice for these exams is available through the library's Learning Express service.   


Scholarships and Financial Aid

FAFSA on the Web
Fill out the Free Application for Federal Student Aid online.

Fastweb
Fastweb allows students to do a search for scholarships to match their background.

FinAid: The Smart Guide to Financial Aid
This award-winning site has grown into the most comprehensive annotated collection of information about student financial aid on the web.

Student Guide to Financial Aid
From the U.S. Department of Education, a comprehensive guide to information about grants, loans, and work-study.

U.S. Department of Education Homepage
Links to many useful resources such as the FAFSA, Student Guide to Financial Aid, Federal (Title IV) School Codes and lots more.


Research Resources for Education Students and Teachers

Academic Search Premier
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. Library and home use.

Education Abstracts
Education Abstracts™ provides indexing and abstracts for more than 680 periodicals and yearbooks, dating as far back as 1983. Books on education published after 1995 are also indexed. Subject coverage includes adult education, multicultural/ethnic education, teaching methods and much more.  Library and home use.

ERIC
ERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, contains more than 1.3 million records and links to more than 323,000 full-text documents dating back to 1966.  Library and home use.

Learning Express. Want to take a practice ACT or SAT test? How about practicing for the GED or Civil Service Exam?  Library and home use.

National Center for Education Statistics school locater Find a public or private school or library anywhere in the United States. The information includes the correct name, address, telephone number, urbanicity (rural, large city, etc.), and other student and teacher information.

Professional Development Collection
Designed for professional educators, this database provides a highly specialized collection of nearly 520 high quality education journals, including more than 350 peer-reviewed titles and more than 200 educational reports.  Library and home use.

Teacher Reference Center
Teacher Reference Center provides indexing and abstracts for 280 of the most popular teacher and administrator journals and magazines to assist professional educators.  Library and home use.

U.S. Department of Education